I Tried Peppermint Oil

I tried peppermint essential oils by “Young Living Essential Oils.”  My sister and her boyfriend are representatives and showed me how to use it two different ways. To diffuse the oil, when inhaled it calms the nerves, stress reliever, and helps you relax. The other is to apply the oil to the skin on your forehead, behind the ears, and back of the neck. Applying to the skin relaxes muscles, helps with pain, and relieves stress (your are still inhaling the fumes).

Defused
It was relaxing. It didn’t help with the pain. Relaxation techniques have never helped with the actual pain. I think if stress is a big trigger it would probably help. And being more relaxed can help cope. But, I found that being overwhelmed or exposed to the sent during an attack made the pain worse.

Topically Applied
The moment the oil touched my skin I had the weirdest sensation. The pain was behind my eyes down the left side of my head. Also a stop on the top of my head and my nose was tingly. My sister had put the oil on her hands, started at forehead and moved back to my neck. All of my pain scurried to the top of my head like it was running away from the oil, after a while drifted to the left side of my head, and my face felt cold. It was weird. My sister says, “At least it did something.” I did not like how it felt. But she was right. It wasn’t what we had hoped for, but it was the first thing that my pain responded to. It was the first shimmer of hope we had the the pain would respond to any treatment. So, the oil puts up an interesting fight, but the pain wins.

My sister and her boyfriend told me that my experience must be very rare. No one had reported an experienced like mine. Most of the people I know use it for headache, they say it takes their pain away instantly. I don’t know anyone else who has tried it for migraines.

Leave a comment

Filed under migraine/headache

Leave a Reply

